My Homemade Sauce

Standard

Now I don’t have time to make this from scratch, scratch if you know what I am saying. That is with real tomatoes grown in my garden, etc. A.) I wish I had the garden and B.) wish I had the time but this is my quick “homemade” version. I have been making this since my early 20’s and it always comes out a little different. I tend to change it up a bit based on what I have in the house. But here is my latest version. I make a lot of it, portion it and then freeze it. Love having some extra sauce in the freezer.

Ingredients

  • 2 TBSP Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped finely (you can go less if you don’t care for garlic)
  • 1 medium whole sweet onion, peeled and chopped finely
  • 2 large cans (28 oz ) of Tomato Puree
  • 1 large can (28 oz.) of Crushed Tomatoes
  • 1 large can (28 oz.) of Tomato Sauce
  • 1 can tomato paste (12 oz.), sometimes will add another small can for thicker consistency
  • 4 leaves of fresh basil (or 2 tsp. dried basil)
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • Couple shakes of Parmesan Cheese
  • 1/4 or 1/3 cup red wine (merlot works great)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Get out a large pot. Drizzle the olive oil on the bottom of the pot. Once it gets hot, add the garlic and onion. Keep a very close eye on it and stir often – you don’t want to scorch the garlic because that means starting over. Once the onion is translucent and soft (should be about 5-7 minutes), add all of the canned tomatoes from puree to paste. Mix it all together allowing the paste to blend with the sauce. Now add the basil and remaining seasonings. I recommend tasting the sauce a few times in order to get the flavor you are looking for. This may mean adding more salt, pepper, garlic powder, etc. The wine really gives it a nice flavor too. And don’t worry, the alcohol will be cooked off way before the kids get into it. I like to let the sauce cook and simmer for a few hours. Leave it on medium low and occassionally give it a stir. For the best flavor, I let if cook for at least a 2-3 hours, refrigerate in the pot overnight and then reheat the next day. All the flavors get absorbed and it’s just always better the next day!

*Tips: I sometimes like to add cut-up pepperoni to my sauce. It gives the sauce such a great flavor. You can even go the turkey pepperoni route too for that healthier sauce. I will take a stick of pepperoni, slice into nice cuts about 1/4 inch thick and throw it in there. A nice little flavorful surprise with your pasta.

Serve with your favorite pasta!

About whats4dinner2nite

I love to cook but have been running out of time to prepare healthy and affordable meals for my family every night. Fast food is not an option for us and I thought with a little planning I could help other parents with the dreaded question of, "what's for dinner tonight?" My goal is to lay out a menu for the week with recipes and sales at my favorite grocery store, Giant. Happy healthy cooking to all and to all a yummy night!

One response »

Leave a Reply

